S4 Latvia, Estonia, Finland: Peteris Vasks – Arvo Pärt – Kaija Saariaho

Contemporary music series S


Experimental space NoD
Dlouhá 33, Praha 1


400 | 300 CZK (seniors 65+) | 100 CZK (students and children up to 15)


Members of the PKF — Prague Philharmonia and their guests


Kaija Saariaho (1952)
Terra Memoria for String Quartet (2007)
Kaija Saariaho
Mirrors for Flute and Cello (1997)
Peteris Vasks (1946)
String Quartet No. 4 (1999)
Arvo Pärt (1935)
Fratres, for String Quartet (1985)
Arvo Pärt
Estländler for solo flute (2006)

Three musicians representing the contemporary generation of composers in Estonia, Latvia and Finland:

Kaija Saariaho – recipient of an American Grammy Award for best opera, L’amour de loin (2011), recipient of the Polar Music Prize (2013), voted the world’s greatest living composer in a BBC survey in 2019.

Peteris Vasks – leading Latvian composer, recipient of numerous awards, an honorary member of the Latvian Academy of Sciences (1994), main composer at the Stockholm New Music Festival (1996), a member of the Royal Swedish Music Academy (2001).

Arvo Pärt – leading Estonian composer, one of the most frequently played contemporary composers in the world, in 2020 he was awarded the BBVA Foundation Frontiers of Knowledge Award for his contribution to culture.

With support
Hl.město Praha
Ministerstvo kultury
General partner
Komerční Banka
Principal partner
General media partner
Česká televize
Principal media partner
Hospodářské noviny