S5 France: Pierre Boulez – Olivier Messiaen

Contemporary music series S


Dlouhá 33, Praha 1


400 | 300 CZK (seniors 65+) | 100 CZK (students and children up to 15)


Kateřina Krejčová – violin

Anna Paulová – clarinet

Lukáš Pospíšil – cello

Filip Martínka – piano


Pierre Boulez (1925–2016)
Anthémes I for Solo Violin (1991)
Olivier Messiaen (1908–1992)
Quartet for the End of Time for Violin, Clarinet, Cello and Piano (1941)

Pierre Boulez – French composer, a dominant figure in postwar classical music, the recipient of numerous awards including the Polar Music Prize (1996): “... His profound musicality, clear music intelligence and unusual farsightedness have enabled him to act in a wider field than the great majority. Thus he has occupied the forefront as composer, interpreter/conductor and eminent theorist, and he has made unique contributions as a debater and source of ideas.”

Olivier Messiaen – French composer, musicologist, organist, pianist and ornithologist, teacher of Pierre Boulez, Karlheinz Stockhausen, Iannis Xenakis. A pioneer of serialism and composer with an unusually refined style in terms of tonality and harmony. His important Quartet for the End of Time, composed in 1941 in a prison camp in Silesian Zhořelec, is being performed as part of the 30th anniversary of the composer’s death.

With support
Hl.město Praha
Ministerstvo kultury
General partner
Komerční Banka
Principal partner
General media partner
Česká televize
Principal media partner
Hospodářské noviny