French-German Dialogue

Orchestral series A


Dvořák Hall Rudolfinum
náměstí Jana Palacha 79/1, Praha 1


CZK 900 | 760 | 580 | 390 (SL/E*) | CZK 150 (ST*)
Donor’s ticket CZK 3 000
*SL/E partial view and organ gallery above the stage
*ST standing

Individual tickets are available from June 14th, 2021.

Buy a subscription




Claude Debussy, arr. Marius Constant
Pelléas et Mélisande, symphonie
César Franck
The Accursed Huntsman
Richard Wagner
The Good Friday Spell from Parsifal
Hector Berlioz
Royal Hunt and Storm from The Trojans
Christoph Willibald Gluck
Overture to Orfeo ed Euridice
Jean-Philippe Rameau
Overture to Zaïs
François Couperin/Thomas Adès
Les Amusements
François Couperin/Thomas Adès
Les Tours de passe-passe
Johann Sebastian Bach, arr. Leopold Stokowski
Fugue in G minor BWV 578 “Little”

A concert full of ancient stories

The last orchestral evening features the most diverse concert program of the season. It connects everything that has already been said within it: the music of several epochs, genres and two cultural backgrounds, German and French.

The individual elements of this varied program are interconnected by a dense network of relations, some of which have become decisive for the development of classical music – such as the mutual influence of France and Germany. In the program full of references to ancient stories, we will discern an equally engaging story of the most magnificent musical genre, opera.

Christoph Willibald Gluck as a composer of the Classical period and Richard Wagner as a representative of Neo-Romanticism made history as operatic reformers, and Hector Berlioz’s opera Les Troyens [The Trojans] another example par excellence of the French grand opera. At the same time, however, it displays Berlioz’s admiration for German music, such as that by the above-mentioned Gluck.

Another, Impressionistic form of the opera is illustrated by a suite from Debussy’s opera Pelléas et Mélisande arranged by Marius Constant. The final part of the concert is dedicated to the Baroque: the overture from Rameau’s opera Zaïs will be heard in the original version, while the music by François Couperin and Johann Sebastian Bach will be presented in a more contemporary context.

Couperin inspired the excellent British composer, Thomas Adès, to come up with his own Couperin-influenced works; Bach’s Fugue in G minor has been transcribed into the orchestral version by the legendary conductor of the New York Philharmonic, Leopold Stokowski.

Emmanuel Villaume & PKF — Prague Philharmonia

With support
Hl.město Praha
Ministerstvo kultury
General partner
Komerční Banka
Principal partner
General media partner
Česká televize
Principal media partner
Hospodářské noviny
O2 universum