Poulenc. Roussel. Gounod. Mendelssohn

Orchestral series A


Dvořák Hall Rudolfinum
náměstí Jana Palacha 79/1, Praha 1


CZK 900 | 760 | 580 | 390 (SL/E*) | CZK 150 (ST*)
Donor’s ticket CZK 3 000
*SL/E partial view and organ gallery above the stage
*ST standing

Individual tickets are available from June 14th, 2021.

Buy a subscription



Charles Gounod
Little Symphony for Wind Instruments
Camille Saint-Saëns
Odelette for Flute and Orchestra Op. 162
Camille Saint-Saëns
Romance op. 37
Francis Poulenc, arr. Lennox Berkeley
Flute Sonata
Albert Roussel
The Spider’s Feast: Symphonic Fragments Op. 17
Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdy
Sinfonia No. 7 in D minor

Solo for one of the best flautists

With the program of the seventh concert of the A-Series, we return to France in full. However, this time, in addition to the music of the 19th century, we will also get a taste of 20th-century music.

The concert opens with a charming chamber composition, Charles Gounod‘s Petite Symphonie [Little Symphony for Wind Instruments]. Then, several times this season, we will turn to the legacy of Camille Saint-Saëns. He composed both Romance of an earlier date and Odelette, one of his most recent works, for flute and orchestra. Francis Poulenc, the leading representative of Les Six, one of the most important groups in French music influenced by Neoclassicism, also wrote his Sonata for the same instrument.

We will enjoy the solo parts of all three compositions for flute performed by one of the best contemporary flautists, Emmanuel Pahud, the principal flautist of the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra.

Albert Roussel was a prominent and innovative figure of the early 20th century and also a teacher of Erik Satie, Edgard Varèse and Bohuslav Martinů. Le Festin de l‘Araignée [The Spider's Feast], one of his best works, was created as a „ballet-pantomime“. The composition stands out by its unusual orchestration and offers an extraordinary musical insight into the realm of insects. In the end, we will get outside France: to offset the introductory composition played solely by the wind instruments, the early work of Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdy, String Symphony No. 7 in D minor, will be heard.

Emmanuel Pahud & Berliner Philharmoniker

With support
Hl.město Praha
Ministerstvo kultury
General partner
Komerční Banka
Principal partner
General media partner
Česká televize
Principal media partner
Hospodářské noviny
O2 universum